Survival Threads
btl5008

looking for a new EDC light

so i have been carrying a streamlight microstream for several years now, and while i love the light, i am looking for something with a higher output. 

the best thing about the microstream is it is extremely small and light.  downside is the power.

I have always been someone that prefers the standard AA and AAA battery lights to the CR 123s.  mostly for simplicity's sake and in keeping things standard.  i also prefer AA and AAAs due to their wide availability.  a light wont do me much good if the batteru dies and i cant get another.

That said, i am not wholly opposed to CR 123 lights. 

this is to be an EDC light, and for that, I require a pocket clip.  preferably one that carrys somewhat deep.  that is really about the only true requirement is have.  i also do prefer a tail switch

there are a few ive been looking at recently. 

the fenix LD12

http://www.amazon.com/Fenix-Compact-Flashlight-Battery-LumenTac/dp/B00C31G24M/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1439487121&sr=8-1&keywords=fenix+ld12

the fenix LD02

http://www.amazon.com/Fenix-LD02-Flashlight-battery-Tactical/dp/B00SGT1H3Q/ref=pd_sim_469_15?ie=UTF8&refRID=0ZPJCF20G51XPRPJ5DK7

the thrunite T10

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JZOZBBK/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A2C6PNVCN407SP

now i do not have experience with either of these, but i have heard good things.  unfortunately, i am not nearly as knowledgeable on lights as i am with knives, but thats why im asking the question.  i dont require a trillion lumens, but i would like something with a little more power

if anyone has experience with either of these, or has any other lights they really enjoy for EDC, i would love some opinions.

Thank you,

Edited by btl5008
  • Upvote 1

I have a bunch of Fenix lights, this is the one I keep with me at all times:

Fenix E12 CREE XP-E2