Survival Threads

Hello, I am new here so if I'm talking nonsense please feel free to set me straight. Where we live there are a few power cuts, especially in the winter, so everyone keeps candles and matches ready. Since I've become AWARE I've been thinking about making my own candles with beeswax. I've never done it before so I ordered beeswax and wicks online, but if it works I'd like to identify a local seller of beeswax. However it's quite expensive. I am concerned about stocking up on cheap candles because I read the paraffin and oils used can be bad for your health. I was wondering if you might have any advice/thoughts? Thank you, Dani

• Upvote 1

Bees wax......... Please don't laugh...

Here in the US, before a toilet is set in the floor, a ring of bees wax is installed around the bottom exit port of the bowl.

This "plumbers" bees wax ring is much cheaper than other sources. It is the same product,  produced by the same little black and yellow workers. It has no additives so works just like the real thing. Because it IS! the real thing.   lol  I crack myself up sometimes.

Others here will suggest other products for candles but I just wanted to address the Bee Thing in this post.

PJL __________________________________________________________________________________

Avoid people who promise you everything  ~~  Unless they ready to pay a substantial advance in cash.

• Upvote 2

PJL really! Wow I learn something all the time on this forum, I just replaced the toilet in my mother and laws house and I had no idea the ring I put down was Bees wax.... The more you know the more you know.

• Upvote 1

ok..umm..unless it from an old hardware store..or under an old toilet, chances

are is that these rings are a petroleum product, as they went petroleum years ago.

The stuff for hair waxing at a salon supply is still beeswax, and beekeepers are

supposed to be a good supply of it..Not sure where the prices are at though..

• Upvote 3

• Upvote 3