Survival Threads
Elise

Sleeping bags for cold temperatures?

I'm wondering if you guys have any experience with sleeping bags.

• Do you have any preferences with regards to brands?
  • Any sleeping bags or whole brands that you would stay away from or trust wholeheartedly?
  • Does anyone have a suggestion for a sleeping bag they'd recommend for very cold temperatures?

Thanks!!

• Upvote 1

Ok..I have some experiences to draw upon in this category..

I have a nice vintage Camp7 good down to 0 F (-17C) in BOB

other Woods canvas/down for the outer bag  that belongs in the truck..

The best option imho are the Cdn. Military because You get 2 bags.

This is awesome, if you find heat/shelter You have one for another person.

If not, it is good down to -30C. A little heavier, but durable and tough.

My next system for certain, and I poke over the ones at surplus occasionally here

lookin for one that will win a beauty contest as well, as they are all used..

http://www.aasurplus.ca/surplus/product/387-canadian-military-arctic-sleeping-bag-system

I forgot, after freezing to the ground once, I will not forget the value of

getting off the ground and keep a foamy with the bag at all times

Edited by Dan Seven
too grounded
  • Upvote 2

Agree with Dan, Cdn. Military stuff is great for cold weather. Have a coat that's designed for parachute jumps into -70C. Removable liner, so adapts to conditions.