Survival Threads
dthomasdigital

Home First Aid Kits for the Non-Medic

This should be the first thing on your First-Aid Kit to do list. And remember my disclaimer, anything I say here is just my opinion I am not a medical professional. I do however have an American Red Cross Certification in First Aid and adult CPR/AED, a American Heart Association certification in First Aid, and Adult, Child and Infant CPR/AED. I’m also a certified CERT (community emergency response team) member which includes fire safety, light search and rescue, team organization, and disaster medical operations. I also have over 200 hours of National Incident management system training. I’m also a member of my local ARES Amateur Radio Emergency Service which is a corps of trained amateur radio operator volunteers organized to assist in public service and emergency communications. So as you can see training is a big part of this so get some training. Now on to the list (which is my no means comprehensive as every persons family may require more customization).

Besides the simple stuff like assorted band-aids and of course a 30 day supply of all your families prescription medications (you have that right), the below list is a pretty good idea of what your home First-Aid kit should look like, if it doesn’t you got some shopping to do.

Miscellaneous
(2) Trauma Shears
(1) Mini-Mag Light or other light of choosing
(1) LED Head-lamp (makes things hands free)
(1) rite in rain  notepad (1) Sharpie marker
(10) Pair Gloves
(2) Safety Goggles

Trauma/Bandaging
(10) 5×9’s
(20) 4×4’s
(2) 12×30 Trauma Dressing
(4) Vasoline Gauze
(2) Rolls 3″ Tape
(2) Rolls 1″ Tape
(10) Rolls 3″ Kerlix
(5) Rolls Coban
(2) Ice Packs
(2) Hot Packs
(5) Cravats (all kinds of uses)
(2) SAM Splints
(2) 4″ Elastic Bandages
(2) 3″ Elastic Bandages
(2) 5×9 H2O Gel Burn Pads
(2) Tubes Antibiotic Ointment
(20) Betadine Swabs
(1) Bottle Sterile Water
(1) Sawyer Snake Bite Extractor Kit.

Medications