Survival Threads
dthomasdigital

Improved First Aid Kit (IFAK) List

In keeping with some other medical kit list I've posted here is another list: What's in your IFAK?

The IFAK stands for improved first aid kit also called individual first aid kit or even blow out kit to some military folks. The IFAK is a kit developed to provide Self-Aid/Buddy-Aid and provides interventions for two leading causes of death on the battlefield (not that we are on a battlefield but you get the idea), severe hemorrhage and inadequate airway. The Kit I will be describing here has been greatly modified from the ones issued to the military and contains much more inventory and as a consequence weighs about 1 pound more than a standard issue military IFAK, but will treat a greater variety of injuries. It goes without saying that I am not a doctor, this is just my opinion. Please take a certified first-aid course before assembling your own IFAK and some medical devices included in the IFAK described here requires more advanced training (more on that later). So what’s in my Kits (I say kits as these are no good if you can’t get to them). I have one for each car, the families Bug out bags, one for my get home bag, and one at work, plus a few  spares here and there). Remember you can only do what you have been trained and certified to do, and good rule of thumb is if you’re not an EMT do not break the skin.

If your out at the range, hunting, or carry a gun/knife this needs to be close by, a good IFAK is a life saver.

Small MOLLIE Pouch (1):
 4X4 Gauze Pads (2):
2X2 Gauze Pads (2):
Large Band Aids (5):
Light Stick (1): You never know how good the light will be
Rolled Gauze 3” (1):
Flex Wrap Roll (1):
Cloth Tape (1):
5X9 Surgical Pads (2):
Sharpie Pen (1): Marking time place on CAT ( Combat Action Tourniquet)
Latex Gloves (4):
Face Mask (2):
Anti-Bacterial Wipes (4): In a bind irrigate wound with bottled water
Medical Shears (1): Get a good pair spend a little extra